Aluminium alloys

The elements used for the production of standard industrial aluminium alloys are:
  1. Copper (Cu)
  2. Manganese (Mn)
  3. Silicone (Si)
  4. Magnesium (Mg)
  5. Zinc (Zn)
  6. Iron (Fe)
In general for the usual production of aluminium alloys, the melting-alloying-element addition-casting method is used.
Industrial aluminium is divided in two major categories:
A. Wrought aluminium that, through rolling or extrusion or other mechanical treatment, creates the end products. The primary purpose of the additives is to improve toughness (fracture resistance).
B. Cast aluminium, which is used directly for producing end products (mold casting). This category uses a higher percentage of additives from the previous category in order to make the casting of the final shape easier.
Fields of application:
  • Construction
  • Automotive, marine, aeronautical engineering, train construction and major infrastructure projects (bridges, load bearing constructions, oil platforms, highway lighting etc.)
  • Packaging
  • Industrial and technical applications
  • General constructions
  • Special consumer goods
  • Electrical applications
  • Other uses
The improved use of the extremely remarkable properties of aluminium – as explained in the previous sections – has nowadays led to the production of commercially developed aluminium alloys, with each alloy featuring a group (or groups) of properties.
Aluminium alloys that concern wrought aluminium (ROLLING – EXTRUSION) have been standardised internationally – depending on the basic alloying details – in the following series:
SERIES 1000: Aluminium alloys with over 99% aluminium.
SERIES 2000: Aluminium – copper alloys.
SERIES 3000: Aluminium – manganese alloys.
SERIES 4000: Aluminium – silicon alloys.
SERIES 5000: Aluminium – magnesium alloys.
SERIES 6000: Aluminium – magnesium – silicon alloys.
SERIES 7000: Aluminium – zinc – magnesium alloys.
SERIES 8000: Other aluminium alloys (lithium, iron, etc)

Manage Cookie Preferences